Bankruptcy.lawBankruptcy.law

Chapter 13

Chapter 13 Attorney Fees and "No-Look" Fee Amounts

In Chapter 13, the court must approve the debtor's attorney fee as reasonable under 11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(4)(B). Most bankruptcy courts publish a presumptively reasonable "no-look" amount that counsel may be allowed without filing itemized time records, and much of it is commonly paid through the plan rather than upfront. The amount and the services it covers are set locally and differ by district.

Key points

  • A Chapter 13 debtor's attorney fee is allowed by the court as reasonable compensation under 11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(4)(B), not simply set by the lawyer.
  • Most districts publish a presumptively reasonable "no-look" fee that can be allowed without itemized time records, and the presumption is rebuttable if someone objects.
  • No-look amounts, and the list of services they cover, are set district by district — there is no single national Chapter 13 attorney fee.
  • Attorney fees are typically paid as an administrative expense through the confirmed plan, which is why many filers pay far less upfront than the total fee.
  • The Chapter 13 court filing fee is separate from attorney fees and is set by federal statute and the Judiciary's fee schedule.

If you are considering Chapter 13 and trying to work out whether you can afford a lawyer, the structure matters as much as the number. The fee is reviewed and allowed by the bankruptcy court, most of it is commonly spread across your plan payments, and the benchmark amount is set by your local court rather than by the firm. This page explains how that works and what actually changes the figure.

How does a Chapter 13 attorney fee actually get approved?

Compensation for professionals in a bankruptcy case runs through 11 U.S.C. § 330. For an individual in a Chapter 13 case, § 330(a)(4)(B) lets the court allow reasonable compensation to the debtor's attorney for representing the debtor's interests in connection with the case, based on the benefit and necessity of those services and the other factors the section lists. Those factors include the time spent, the rates charged, whether the services were necessary or beneficial, whether they were performed in a reasonable amount of time, and whether the compensation is reasonable compared with what comparably skilled practitioners charge outside bankruptcy.

The court may also award less than the amount requested, on its own motion or on a motion by the U.S. Trustee, the U.S. Trustee for the District or Region, the case trustee, or any other party in interest (11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(2)). So the fee you sign up for is a proposed fee until the court allows it.

  • The statute measures the fee against benefit, necessity, time, rates, and market comparability — not a fixed price list.
  • Compensation can be reduced, including on the court's own motion.
  • Separately, the court cannot allow compensation for unnecessary duplication of services (11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(4)(A)).

What is a "no-look" fee, and why do courts use one?

A "no-look" fee — more precisely a presumptively reasonable fee — is an amount a local court has decided it will treat as reasonable for routine Chapter 13 representation without requiring the attorney to file an itemized application with time records. The point is administrative: itemizing every routine consumer case would burden both counsel and the court for very little gain.

The local materials in our corpus describe the same basic shape in district after district. In the Eastern District of Wisconsin, the court maintains a schedule of fees presumed reasonable, and counsel need not file a compensation application where the agreed fee is at or below the presumptive amount through confirmation and nobody objects (E.D. Wis. LBR 2016-2). Idaho makes the fee presumptively reasonable and allowed under 11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(4)(B) without itemization, while noting the fee is presumptive only and may be reviewed, reduced, or modified after hearing (Bankr. D. Idaho LBR 2016-2). The presumption is a procedural shortcut, not a guaranteed entitlement.

  • No-look means no itemized time records required — not that the fee is beyond review.
  • Many districts condition it on a signed rights-and-responsibilities agreement and no unresolved objection.
  • Courts can review the fee if the case is dismissed or representation ends early (Bankr. D. Idaho LBR 2016-2; N.D. Ind. L.B.R. B-2016-1 (as amended July 27, 2026)).

What changes the answer in your case?

Several things move a Chapter 13 fee, and almost none of them are about haggling. The biggest is simply which court your case is administered in, because the presumptive amount is local. After that, the main drivers are the nature of the case and the work it actually requires.

Business or self-employed cases are commonly treated as a separate, higher category: Arizona sets one flat-fee maximum for a non-business case and a higher one for a debtor who is self-employed or engaged in business and required to file monthly operating reports (Ariz. LBR 2084-3). A debtor who is self-employed and incurs trade credit in producing income is "engaged in business" for Chapter 13 purposes (11 U.S.C. § 1304). Districts also commonly add separate presumptive amounts for discrete post-confirmation work — plan modifications, motions to incur debt, lien avoidance motions, mortgage-mediation work — rather than folding everything into one number.

  • Which district administers the case, because the presumptive amount is local.
  • Whether the case is a business or self-employed case.
  • Whether post-confirmation events (modification, relief-from-stay, claim objections) occur, and whether your district prices them separately.
  • Whether anyone objects to the fee, which converts the shortcut into a contested question.
  • Whether the case is dismissed or counsel's services end before discharge.

What does federal law say about the fee and about paying it through the plan?

Federal law supplies the authority and the payment mechanics; the amount is local. 11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(4)(B) authorizes reasonable compensation to a Chapter 13 debtor's attorney. Plan confirmation then interacts with it: under 11 U.S.C. § 1325(a)(2), any fee, charge, or amount required under chapter 123 of title 28 — the title 28 bankruptcy fee provisions — or required by the plan to be paid before confirmation must have been paid.

Payment priority is set by 11 U.S.C. § 1326(b), which provides that before or at the time of each payment to creditors under the plan, there shall be paid any unpaid claim of the kind specified in 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(2) — administrative expenses — and the percentage fee fixed for a standing trustee. That is the statutory basis for the familiar pattern of attorney fees being paid ahead of general unsecured creditors out of plan payments. Several local rules say so expressly (E.D. Wis. LBR 2016-2; Vt. LBR 2016-2).

Where the federal pieces sit
QuestionAuthority
May the court allow a Chapter 13 debtor's attorney fee?11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(4)(B)
Can the court allow less than requested?11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(2)
Must pre-confirmation fees and charges be paid?11 U.S.C. § 1325(a)(2)
How are administrative claims paid under the plan?11 U.S.C. § 1326(b); 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(2)
Who sets the no-look amount?Local court rules, guidelines, or general orders

Where do local rules differ, and by how much?

This is the part that surprises people: the presumptive amount is a local policy choice, and the published amounts, the covered services, and the procedure all vary.

Some courts put the number in the rule itself. The Northern District of Indiana's local rule presumes $4,500 to be a reasonable attorney's fee for counsel's services representing a debtor in a routine, consumer Chapter 13 case, a presumption that may be rebutted if an objection to the award is filed (N.D. Ind. L.B.R. B-2016-1 (as amended July 27, 2026)). The rule does not state how the change applies to pending cases. Other courts deliberately keep the number out of the rule: Idaho sets it by general order, Colorado by a general procedure order amended from time to time, Eastern Kentucky's Western Kentucky counterpart puts it in the Clerk's Office Administrative Manual, and Vermont puts it in an appendix (Bankr. D. Idaho LBR 2016-2; D. Colo. L.B.R. 2016-3; KYWB LBR 2012-1; Vt. LBR 2016-2).

  • Amount location varies: in the rule, in a general order, in an appendix, or in a clerk's manual.
  • Covered-services lists vary, and some districts require a specific rights-and-responsibilities agreement or model retention agreement.
  • Some districts price post-confirmation services separately; others set one base fee plus add-ons.
  • Because the figure is local, check your own district's current rule rather than a national average — and use /tools/bankruptcy-court-finder/ to identify the court.

What does this look like in practice?

In a routine consumer case in a no-look district, the sequence commonly runs like this. You and counsel sign a written fee agreement, often on a court-prescribed form; counsel files the required compensation disclosure; the plan states the fee; and on confirmation the fee is allowed at or below the presumptive amount without a detailed application, provided nobody objects.

The Northern District of Indiana illustrates the mechanics. Under its current rule, $4,500 is presumed reasonable for a routine consumer Chapter 13 case; a fee that does not exceed that amount may be awarded, after notice to all creditors, either on application or through the additional provisions of a confirmed plan, without supporting time records (N.D. Ind. L.B.R. B-2016-1 (as amended July 27, 2026)). The rule does not state how the change applies to pending cases. Counsel may still apply for more for extraordinary, unusual, or unanticipated services, with documentation showing the reasonable value of that work. That is the general pattern, not a national price.

  • Sign the fee agreement and any required rights-and-responsibilities form.
  • Counsel files the required disclosure of compensation.
  • The plan states the fee; the confirmation order commonly allows it.
  • The trustee disburses it as an administrative expense alongside creditor payments (11 U.S.C. § 1326(b)).
  • Extraordinary work goes through a separate application with documentation.

What documents and information are involved?

Expect a short, specific paper trail. Counsel generally files a disclosure of the compensation paid or agreed to be paid in connection with the case, and many districts require a written fee agreement plus a court-prescribed rights-and-responsibilities or model retention agreement signed by both you and your attorney (Bankr. D. Idaho LBR 2016-2; W.D. Mo. LBR 2016-2; D. Mass. LBR Appendix 1, Rule 13-7).

The plan itself is a fee document. Arizona requires the plan to state whether compensation will be on a flat-fee or hourly basis and, if flat, the amount and the services included — and requires the plan disclosure to be consistent with counsel's compensation disclosure (Ariz. LBR 2084-3). Massachusetts requires the engagement letter to describe the scope of representation and the basis or rate of fees and expenses, and to state that a no-look fee is not a "flat fee" in the colloquial sense and that a refund may be due in some circumstances (D. Mass. LBR Appendix 1, Rule 13-7).

  • A written fee agreement or engagement letter describing scope and rates.
  • The court's compensation disclosure for the debtor's attorney.
  • Any required rights-and-responsibilities or model retention agreement.
  • The Chapter 13 plan, which states the fee and often requests its allowance.
  • An itemized fee application, if counsel seeks more than the presumptive amount.

What should you ask a lawyer about fees?

Fee questions are fair, and local rules in several districts are built around making the answers explicit. These are the questions that surface the parts people are later surprised by, and your own lawyer is the right person to answer them for your case.

Ask what the total quoted fee covers and what it does not. Several districts spell out exclusions — defense or prosecution of adversary proceedings, appeals, U.S. Trustee audits, or litigation arising from incomplete information — for which separate arrangements may be made (KYEB LBR 2016-2; D. Md. LBR Appendix F; D.C. LBR 2016-2). Ask how much is due before filing and how much rides on the plan. Ask what happens to the fee if your case is dismissed before confirmation, since districts address that specifically (E.D. Wis. LBR 2016-2; Bankr. D. Idaho LBR 2016-2).

  • What services are inside the quoted fee, and which are expressly excluded?
  • How much is payable before filing, and how much is paid through the plan?
  • What is the presumptive fee in this district right now, and where is it published?
  • What happens to the fee if the case is dismissed before confirmation, or converted?
  • What would trigger a request for fees above the presumptive amount?
  • Are the court filing fee and other costs included in the quote or billed separately?

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Chapter 13 lawyer cost?
There is no single national figure. Each bankruptcy court sets its own presumptively reasonable "no-look" amount for routine consumer Chapter 13 cases, and some publish it in a local rule while others publish it in a general order, appendix, or clerk's manual. The Northern District of Indiana, for example, presumes $4,500 reasonable for a routine consumer Chapter 13 case. The rule does not state how the change applies to pending cases. Check your own district's current figure.
Can Chapter 13 attorney fees be paid through the plan?
Commonly, yes. Allowed attorney compensation is generally treated as an administrative expense, and 11 U.S.C. § 1326(b) provides that before or at the time of each payment to creditors under the plan, unpaid claims of the kind specified in 11 U.S.C. § 507(a)(2) and the standing trustee's percentage fee are paid. Several local rules say attorney fees not paid before filing must be paid through the plan and may be paid ahead of other creditors if the plan so provides and the court approves.
Is a no-look fee the same as a flat fee?
Not exactly, and at least one district says so in terms. Massachusetts requires the fee agreement to state that neither the no-look fee nor any other amount paid for Chapter 13 services is considered a "flat fee" where reasonable fees for services actually rendered do not exceed what was paid, and that a refund of some or all fees may be due in certain circumstances (D. Mass. LBR Appendix 1, Rule 13-7). It is a presumption of reasonableness, not a fixed price.
Can the court reduce or review my attorney's fee?
Yes. Under 11 U.S.C. § 330(a)(2) the court may award less than the amount requested, on its own motion or on a motion by the U.S. Trustee, the U.S. Trustee for the District or Region, the trustee, or any other party in interest. Local rules add their own review points: Idaho states the presumptive fee may be reviewed and reduced or modified after hearing, and several districts allow review if the case is dismissed or counsel's services end before discharge.
What if my case needs more work than the no-look fee covers?
Districts generally allow counsel to apply for more. The Northern District of Indiana permits an application for fees above the presumptive amount for extraordinary, unusual, or unanticipated legal services, supported by documentation demonstrating the reasonable value of those services. Idaho allows additional fees in extraordinary circumstances through an application with justification and itemization, with notice to the debtor, the Chapter 13 trustee, the U.S. Trustee, and creditors and parties in interest.
Is the court filing fee part of the attorney fee?
No. The Chapter 13 case filing fee is $235 under 28 U.S.C. § 1930(a)(1)(B), and a separate administrative fee of $78 is collected for filing a Chapter 13 petition under the Bankruptcy Court Miscellaneous Fee Schedule, Item 8. Those are court charges, not compensation to your lawyer. Several districts' presumptive fees expressly exclude filing fees, so confirm with your attorney whether a quoted figure includes them.
Do attorney fees differ for a business or self-employed Chapter 13 filer?
Often, yes. Arizona sets a higher flat-fee maximum where the debtor indicates in the statement of financial affairs that they are self-employed or engaged in business and must file monthly operating reports (Ariz. LBR 2084-3), and the D.C. rule sets a higher presumptive amount where a business report is required or the debtor holds a controlling interest in an operating business (D.C. LBR 2016-2). A self-employed debtor who incurs trade credit in producing income is "engaged in business" under 11 U.S.C. § 1304.
Does the no-look amount in my district apply to a case already filed?
That depends on the terms of the local rule or order, and sometimes it is simply not addressed. The Northern District of Indiana's amended rule presumes $4,500 reasonable for routine consumer Chapter 13 representation. The rule does not state how the change applies to pending cases. Where a local rule is silent on pending cases, the question is one to raise with counsel and, if necessary, with the court — not something to assume either way.

Sources

By Antonio G. Jimenez, Esq. · Florida Bar No. 21022

Sources verified October 8, 2026 · How we verify

Every figure on this page is drawn from a primary legal source and checked against our canonical legal database before publication. Bankruptcy.law is not a law firm and does not provide legal advice.

Related

Turn this into a plan for your exact situation, state, and court.

See My Debt Relief Options→